Back to normal?

Today was my most “normal” day I’ve had in weeks, since before we left for vacation. To recap, we left for vacation on Big Sis’ last day of school. The following Wednesday, my sister called my cell in Florida to tell me that they’d taken my mom to the hospital by ambulance in the middle of the night. Turned out to be a raging bladder infection. When I got home the following Sunday, I spent the next few days visiting my mom in the hospital, and then bringing her home.

One night shy of her one week hospital discharge anniversary, I’m talking to her on the phone. “By the way,” she says nonchalantly, “I’m having chest pains.” I call my sister and Mom’s cardiologist (who NEVER CALLED ME BACK, by the way). They subside and everyone goes to sleep.

The next day at lunch, Chiquita pukes in her apartment building’s communal dining room. I ditch the kids at a neighbor’s and go to check on her. I call my sister and the cardiologist’s office (who is now acting shocked that I never got a call back the night before…argh!). Cardiologist says to find an ER.

We sigh and re-pack her half-unpacked hospital bag.

An angioplasty, three new stents and ten days later, I bring her home. I’ve spent a good portion of nearly every day (8 of 10) with her in the hospital. Called in every child care favor I could come up with, and hired a sitter on the days those ran out. Then made my husband come home from work early when THAT ran out.

About that time, I started wondering what would happen if I took three Wellbutrin a day instead of two.

And had to cancel the follow-up appointment with my PCP to get MORE happy pills. Still haven’t rescheduled.

But today felt good. Dropped the kids at VBS (God bless VBS!!), and hit Target. It’s one of my favorite places to go without kids.

Sad, I know.

Picked up the kids, quick lunch at Panera, and off to the library to see a magic show. Very fun. When we get home, I even have enough energy to make the kids an afternoon snack (because the dog ate Little Sis’ chocolate chip bagel). What a good mom I am.

AT 5:30 pm, I pack swimsuits and bundle the little darlings off to the neighbors’. Hubby joins me for a date night: Get Smart.

Here’s to getting back to normal.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

