WFMW: Putting out a Kitchen Fire

Last week I put a pot on our electric stove to boil. Apparently there was something on the burner, because once it got hot, I saw the flicker of flames underneath the pot.

“Oh, fire!” I said. The kids looked up. After a full day of being “booooo-red,” finally something interesting.

As I reached up into the spice cabinet next to the stove, my husband reached over to the pot and pulled it off the burner.

Phfooomp! Up reached the flames, energized by the new oxygen. They licked up to the range hood, threatening the cabinets above.

(You’d think he would’ve known better, having studied SCIENCE most of his life; he has a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering).

I pulled out my trusty salt and dumped it onto the flames until they extinguished. Unfortunately, I used my good kosher salt, because it was handier than my table salt.

“Oh, my good salt!” I had said to myself.

“Oh, my good HOUSE!” I said back, and began to pour.

Anyway, that’s a little trick that DEFINITELY worked for me this week. Thanks, Mom, for always telling me to keep the container of salt near the stove.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WFMW: Putting out a Kitchen Fire

  1. OMG! I’m going to keep the salt beside our stove from now on, too.

    Although, come to think of it, this may not work with a gas cooker.
    Might be easier to just turn the thing off…

  2. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    have you seen this….

  3. sandwiched says:

    Wow…amazing footage. Everyone who uses a stove should check it out.

Leave a Reply

