Quick update

It’s been a crazy couple of days! Here are the bullet points:

Mom was released from the hospital yesterday (after my keys got locked in my car and my husband came home early to unlock it). The scope of her bladder was clear except for a raging bladder infection. She was put on antibiotics and has to wear a foley catheter for a month, but she’s at home. A nurse is (supposed to be) checking on her daily. Though mom mentioned today that the nurse wanted me to do her job twice a week. We’ve been through this before….

The AC is fixed. Yay! Just in time for a cold snap: it’s been in the 60s this week!

I’m still on Weight Watchers; I only gained 0.4 lbs over our vacation. And I ate ice cream almost every day! Of course, I did walk all over Walt Disney World, plus a good amount of swimming. And I tried to watch my portions.

Also, I teamed up with my next-door neighbor for a friendly WW competition: For each pound we lose over the course of a month, we’ll each earn one hour of babysitting from the other. So if I lose 5 and she loses 8, she’ll watch my kids for 5 hours and I’ll watch hers for 8. We can use them right away or bank them. Plus, we decided that 14 hours equals one sleepover! Plus, when I reach my first 10% goal, I’ve got my eye on a sweet little iPod nano.

Took the girls to their first summer tumbling class today. The liked it, but I was a nervous wreck! They had my four-year-old trying back walkovers, or something! Anyway, they looked a little uncoordinated compared to the other girls, but it was only their first day. It’s a pretty serious gym dedicated to tumbling and cheering. So far, so good….

And met with my book group tonight. It was fun…a bit of girl talk, a bit of coffee (or in my case, a chai tea latte), a bit of book discussion (Around the Bloc).

I’ve been running since 6:30 am, and I’m done. Time to snuggle on the couch with my husband and Jon Stewart!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick update

  1. Pingback: Back to normal? « Sandwiched

Leave a Reply

