WFMW: Netflix

Works for Me Wednesday

I’m sure y’all have heard about this before, but one of the things that works GREAT for me is Netflix. For the three of you out there who’ve never heard of it, it’s online movie rentals. You create an account, decide how many movies you’d like to have out at a time, and start adding movies to your Queue that you’d like to see. We do two at a time (one grown-up movie and one kid/family movie), although we often drop down to one during the summer, and bump up to three in the run up to the Oscars.

I’m a big movie buff, and I hated missing movies when I had my first baby. But getting them as soon as they’re released on DVD is the next best thing, and a lot more practical with small kids. And now that the kids are older, it sure beats dragging them into a video store, where I have to explain why that teenage girl has blood on her on that DVD case, they fight over which movie to rent and beg me to buy candy and popcorn at the checkout (at those prices?). This way, the red envelope arrives in the mail and the kids ask me what this week’s kid movie is. I’ve selected them, so I know they’ll work for our family, and they won’t be too mindless for my husband and I to sit through. And even if it’s a clunker, we drop it back in the mail and have the next one in 2 days.

The nice thing about the Queue is that you can add anything to it anytime. There hasn’t been a movie yet that we’ve wanted to see that they didn’t have. Not out on DVD (or even in the theaters) yet? Add it anyway and it’ll appear on your Queue when it’s released. You can also rate movies and get personalized recommendations, or compare Queues with your friends, or write up reviews.

Bring on movie night!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WFMW: Netflix

  1. Jeni says:

    I love my Netflix – just got National Treasure 2 in my mailbox today! It’s a little extra incentive to go get the mail! 🙂

  2. Audra Krell says:

    The company my husband is with is now advertising on the inside cover of Netflix. It is called iMemories and I just wanted to pass on that it has been so great to have all of our old home movies integrated to a safe online space. The coolest part is sharing little clips of the kids with our family. If you see the ad, check it out. It’s amazing! : )

  3. Tara says:

    Netflix is GREAT~! I love it!

  4. Faith says:

    Netflix is wonderful!! I love that you can get some of them immedaiately and watch on line

Leave a Reply

