WFMW: Oatmeal for Kids’ Breakfast

My first daughter was over two before I figured out one of our now-regular breakfast choices: instant Quaker oatmeal! I made it thicker than normal when my kids were toddlers so it’d stay on their toddler spoons. Depending on your family’s tastes, you could also use the lower-sugar packets, or if making enough for two, mix one flavored packet with a plain packet.

For a while there, we were going through enough oatmeal to buy it at Sam’s Club. We’d experiment with all the flavors, but today we’re down to old tried-and-true maple and brown sugar.

To cool it off quickly, and add a nutritional boost, we add frozen blueberries. We always make it with milk instead of water for the extra calcium, too.

For more great ideas, check out Rocks in My Dryer.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WFMW: Oatmeal for Kids’ Breakfast

  1. Edi says:

    I eat mine with frozen raspberries and I LOVE IT! If I’m using regular oatmeal instead of instant flavored…I add about 1/2 c milk to 3/4 rolled oats and let it sit overnight in the fridge or on the counter for about 15-20 min… Then I add some warmed up raspberries with some sweetener – it is so super wonderful I’ve been eating it for a couple of months almost every day!

  2. sandwiched says:

    Edi: Yum! Maybe I’ll try that next. When I was working with a personal trainer a couple years ago, my regular breakfast was 1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal microwaved with 1 cup water. I’d add a scoop of vanilla protein powder (sweetened with Splenda), pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 cup to 1 cup frozen blueberries. If I felt like splurging, I’d add a splash of flavored coffee creamer (usually low-fat or sugar-free).

    I ate that daily for a year and a half AFTER I quit training with him!

  3. Faith says:

    I love oatmeal! Never thought of the frozen blueberries to cool it off with. The rocks in the dryer has me really curious.

Leave a Reply

