The In-Laws are coming…back.

Ah, how time flies. It seems like my in-laws were just here. But they’re on their way back again to celebrate the girls’ birthdays. So after spending days preparing for the girls’ birthdays myself, now I need to have the entire house cleaned in…about 5 and a half more hours now. I’ve been doing laundry and cleaning the kitchen for over an hour and a half already, and you can’t even tell. *sigh*

I’ll plug on until about 10:40 am, then pick up Little Sis from school and come back. Then I’ll head upstairs to do the bedrooms and bathroom.

So this weekend we’ll have the four of us, plus my parents-in-law (Oma and Opa) and my brother-in-law. All trapped together in this house for over 3 days. Although Big Sis and I have plans to escape on Friday night: she’s going to a sleepover, and I’m heading to a fondue party in support of a girlfriend who was recently diagnosed with breast cancer.

So when choosing between my in-laws and breast cancer, I choose…breast cancer?? Actually, not quite true. I’m choosing melted chocolate.

No contest.

Let’s not even talk about Sunday: Mother’s Day. Oma and Grandpa will go to one church and we’ll go to ours. My mom will need a little attention, Oma will need some. I don’t expect any. Get real. And my brother-in-law has stipulated that he’d rather not see my mom. We have no flowers ordered, no reservations made. It may be a spectacular emotional train wreck.

Wish me luck this weekend…you may not hear from me for a couple of days! And I may need to schedule an appointment with my therapist early next week.

(Pray for me….!)

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The In-Laws are coming…back.

  1. Faith says:

    Ohhhh how I will pray for you!!! They should realize how blessed they are to have you.

    Happy Mother’s day to a person that works very hard caring for the family and in laws.

    Take a bubble bath and candles after they all leave and RELAX!

    Happy Mother’s Day!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

