WFMW: What Doesn’t Work for Me : Dishes

So I keep waiting for the Dish Fairy to show up. She hasn’t made it yet.

So I guess I’m stuck. I do manage to run the dishwasher about once a day, give or take, but the dishes REALLY pile up before then. Usually there’s a full dishwasher load of dirty dishes taking over my sink & countertop before I get to them.

I’d like to be the kind of mom who has the kitchen completely clean and sparkly before bed, ready for the breakfast rush.

It’s never happened.

By the time I get dinner on the table and the kids into bed, I’m WIPED OUT. I have enough energy to flop on the couch and watch The Daily Show, but that’s about it.

I either do the dishes about 10 am the next day or about 4 pm. By then we’re usually out of clean spoons.

(A side note: I’m not a wash-by-hand type of girl. I’ve heard too many stories about the crud and germs and microbes that live in your sponges. I must wash in the dishwasher, preferably on “sanitize.” If an item does require hand washing, it usually sits there on the counter for about 3 days until I get sick of looking at it or until my husband washes it…which is every other Friday.)

So how do you guys do it?

Or maybe nobody actually does it and it’s all a vast conspiracy to make us moms feel even less adequate.

To read more about what doesn’t work for people and put in your two cents, visit Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WFMW: What Doesn’t Work for Me : Dishes

  1. Nessie says:

    I’m about half machine and half hand wash. Anything big or frequently used gets the hand wash. As for crud in your sponge, 30 seconds in the microwave will sanitize it. Careful, it is steaming hot when it comes out.

    My real secret; my husband and I have an agreement. Any day I make a real home cooked meal; he clears up the dishes for me after dinner. He sure is a keeper!

  2. Beq says:

    I use the “I cook, you clean” rule in my house like Nessie says above. When I cook a meal for dinner, he cleans.

    My second rule is that I only want to touch that stinking dish once!! I finish my cereal, rinse the bowl and resist the tempation to set it in the sink. I pull the dishwasher open and place it on the rack. Then I don’t have to look at it again. 🙂 This doesn’t work for everyone, but with my laundry and dishes I don’t care to move them two or three times. I simply want to put it away and move on to something else.

  3. Cari says:

    I thought I was the only one to pray for the arrival of the dish fairy! You and I must be secret clones because your kitchen sounds exactly like mine. I never get the dishes done after cooking dinner (my hubbie doesn’t want to do them either!). In fact, the dishes in various states of dirtiness are waiting for me right now. I loathe doing dishes. I’d rather scrub the toilets.

Leave a Reply

