Tired.

It’s been a whirlwind few days. Sunday morning we joined a new church, which was a pretty big deal for us. Maybe someday I’ll write a post about it, but suffice to say that after nearly 12 years of marriage, my husband and I finally belong to the same church. Which is SUCH a relief…it’s nice to have a spiritual home again.

So it was a long morning: an hour of Sunday school, an hour of church, and a new member reception afterwards. Then I’d promised Mom that we’d come over and take her out to brunch to celebrate. But by the time we got home, I was so frazzled because the kids had been so squirrely at church (just a taste: Little Sis commandeered the microphone during the children’s sermon and proceeded to tell the entire congregation a long, rambling story that ended with her Sunday school teacher inviting the class for a sleepover. Then, about four minutes later, she toppled backwards, kicking her legs up, throwing her skirt up around her waist, and letting the entire congregation get to know her BIBLICALLY), that I had to just sit still for a while.

So by the time I’d recovered enough to deal with the kids AND Mom, it was nearly 2:00 pm. We left my husband home to disassemble our front deck with a crowbar. Which is probably worth its own post; it’s been at least 6 years coming and has been a consistent source of marital discord.

Yesterday my primary goal was to go grocery shopping. It doesn’t sound like much, but it’d been over two weeks and we needed EVERYTHING. Two and a half hours later, I came home with groceries for both us and Mom. As I’m putting things away, I got aggravated with the fact that I can’t fit anything into the pantry. So the next thing I know, I’m cleaning out the top shelf, wiping it down and putting things back where they go.

Four hours later, four of the five shelves have been cleared and tidied. There were two kitchen trash bags I’d filled, plus a big pile of stuff to go to the food pantry at our (new) church. I take a break to get Big Sis off the bus…then snacks, then dinner, then bed.

After the kids are off in bed, my husband very kindly and gently points out to me that sometimes I don’t quite finish what I start (who, me?  *bats eyelashes*).  So he hopes that the pile of food pantry stuff won’t occupy that spot on the kitchen floor for the next two weeks.

So with that, I’m off to bag up the food pantry stuff and load it in the car to drop off tomorrow. More later!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tired.

  1. Faith says:

    I’m tired just reading your post! But it sounds to me that you got a tremendous amount of tasks completed. Wish I had that much motivation (smile)

  2. jenuinejen says:

    You need a break. Don’t you love the days when what should be a simple trip to the grocery store turns into all day chores for you?

    About your daughter and children’s sermon. My dad is a minister and things like the long story have happened several times to him. It is cute and usually people just laugh at the innocence of the children. One time after a child told a story that went on and on, he just stopped trying to tell his story. He enjoyed the child’s story and he knew he had to be flexible in those situations. In years from now you will be laughing over this.

  3. Beq says:

    Oh, I’m so thrilled that you have a spiritual home again. It’s surprising how satisfying that is. I don’t think you need a church to be spiritual or religious, but it helps to have it as a foundation. The most important thing is that you share faith with your husband. Having God at the center of marriage will save many, many arguments.

Leave a Reply

