Graduation Day

Well, it’s official. My therapist and I agreed this morning that I’m done with therapy. For the time being, anyway. And she gave me strict instructions to call at the first sign of trouble. And not to drop my antidepressant.

Which I was starting to think about, actually.

But she’s convinced me that I need to get to a certain level of stability before I even consider it. And she threw in a horror story about a patient of hers who had dropped the meds too soon and crashed four months later. It took another seven months until she was back on meds and feeling good again.

So I think I’ll stick to the status quo, as they croon in High School Musical.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Graduation Day

  1. Faith says:

    Congrats!!! on having completed counseling!! It’s a good feeling to know that some goals have been met and things accomplished. You worked hard so celebrate.

    I’ve been dealing with depression off and on over the years. I crashed back in 2005 and have not yet recovered. They change my meds. Start up hill and crash again.

    I worked in social services and ended up doing some counseling even though that was not my degree. It happened at times b/c the person needed it and I was put there at that time for a reason, spiritually speaking. I was always told I was good at it, not to toot my horn, but to say this is a career I am moving into as I heal myself.

    Strongly urge you don’t stop the meds till there are calm waters (I know, yeah right when is that 🙂 ).

    And congratulations!!! You are awesome.

Leave a Reply

