Monday, Monday…

So here’s my Monday morning:

Up 5 times last night between insomnia, earaches and thunderstorms.

Got up to call doctor to schedule appointment for Big Sis and discovered phone was dead.

Tromp out to backyard in pouring rain & mud to see if dog chewed through phone line. Looks okay.

Kids woke up in our bed. Little Sis left puddle behind. Strip bed.

Get Big Sis off to school in pouring rain. No time for breakfast, so she’ll eat breakfast at school. Little Sis throws tantrum because she doesn’t have her own umbrella.

Start to fix breakfast; Little Sis wants hot chocolate because she’s cold and wet. Like I have time for this!

So I’ve been trying to fix the phone all morning and can’t, maybe because I can’t focus on it for more than 5 minutes at a time. No time to call repairman; need to leave to pick up Big Sis for doctor in 15 minutes. Meanwhile, I feel yucky because my ears are still plugged; I went to the doctor Friday to get an antibiotic for a sinus infection. It might not be working.

Ugh.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday, Monday…

  1. Faith says:

    Oh, how I have been there. I sympathize. You need to take care of yourself before you can take care of little ones. I KNOW HOW EASY THAT IS SAID AND SO HARD TO DO IT! Can you curl up this afternoon on couch and little ones play in room with you? Yeah, phone is needed but do you have a cell phone that can be used instead? Maye phone is out on the phone company end? If it’s ok, I’ll say a prayer for you.

    I’m sending thoughts of chicken soup and hot tea to you. Take care of yourself and talk to you later.
    Faith.

  2. sandwiched says:

    You’re so sweet! Mmmm…tea. Think I’ll brew a cup!
    The day got better…Big Sis now has antibiotics, phone came back all by itself early afternoon. I spent a while on the couch with Oprah (albeit with CONSTANT interruption from Little Sis…she’s off the walls today!). I was just starting to wonder what to make for dinner when my husband reminded me that I have a casserole waiting in the fridge to be baked! I just sent the girls outside to literally do laps around our cul de sac…the weather’s yucky, but I couldn’t take the roughhousing anymore! My husband has bedtime duty…thank goodness. And thank you…I’ll take all the prayers I can get!

  3. Faith says:

    Glad it got a bit better. Keep in touch. Prayers coming your way.

Leave a Reply

