Floored.

On my answering machine last night, from Mom:

“Hi, you home? I’m down on the floor and I can’t get up. I’ll see if I can call the nurse. Bye.”

Panic.

Wait for next message…

“Hi, it’s me. I’m back up. The nurse came and got me. Call me when you get in.”

I picked up the phone and started dialing. You know, I knew I couldn’t take her anywhere, but as it turns out, I can’t even take her NOWHERE!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Floored.

  1. Faith says:

    Yup, my mom’s been on the floor a few times. But the best part is she has a service she can call and a neighbor will be called and my sisters. Nope, she waits and calls my sisters and waits till they respond and then they go down and lift her off the floor. Could be a hour she may wait. UGH!

    She had fallen and broke her hip. Of course she had taken the button for the call service off “because she didn’t want to get it wet.”, which we have told her numerous time it’s water proof. A neighbor finally heard her and the police broke her door down. We now have a code lock on her door. If the police go we give them the code.

    Hang in there
    Faith

  2. Pingback: Walking the caregiving balance beam. « Sandwiched

Leave a Reply

