Election Day

Busy day. Started by getting the girls off to school bright and early, and harassing everyone at the bus stop to go vote in the Pennsylvania primary. Then I voted for my man Barack Obama.

Called Mom to make sure she had plans to vote. She’s a lifelong Republican, but registered as a Democrat so she could vote for Barack. Initially she told me she was just doing that so she could handpick John McCain’s opponent, and which point I refused to help her register to vote and stormed out of her apartment.

Then I realized: a vote’s a vote, and we need all we can get!

So she was all set to take her apartment building’s bus over to the polling place at 1:00 pm. Once I knew she was taken care of, I headed out to do my day’s errands.

I picked up Big Sis and one of our neighbors from the bus, and we stayed outside for hours, playing with sidewalk paint and other neighborhood kids. As my neighbors came home, I sent them off to vote while I watched the kids. My civic duty! And I didn’t even require them to vote for Barack (although I did gently encourage, verbally and with my yard sign, two rally signs, tee shirt and three campaign buttons). I am a Great American!

Finally, around 7:45 pm, we came inside, tired and hungry. I threw a frozen pizza into the oven (cop out, I know) while Big Sis did her homework. I checked the answering machine: one message from Michelle Obama and FOUR from Mom!

Each message got more urgent. “Call me back.” “Where ARE you guys?” “I had an awful day…please call me.”

Now I was a little scared, and kicking myself that I hadn’t checked in earlier. One of the last times my mom took the bus, she ended up in the hospital for two weeks. She scraped her shin on the bus steps, and it got horribly infected and refused to heal (she’s a diabetic).

So I called right back. “Mom, we just got in. Are you okay?”

She was fine. It turned out her “awful day” was because the chef had broiled her tomato stuffed with tuna salad instead of serving it cold. She was really looking forward to a cold lunch!

As it turns out, my awful day was because of a certain senator from New York. Oh well…on to Indiana!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, politics, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Election Day

  1. Faith says:

    I’m tired just reading about your day. It’s so good to read about a neighborhood being so friendly. Your great to watch the kids while the parents vote and you played with them as well. (smile)

    My mom has “awful days” like your mother’s. My mom can me exhausting!!!

Leave a Reply

