Saturday

So another Saturday morning has come and gone. After putting myself to bed last night with a healthy dose of NyQuil, I do feel better. Headache mostly gone, and I have some hearing back in my left ear.

I was ready to get up and get going this morning. Oh, the plans I had! Get up early, walk the dog, clear out our cluttered bedroom, paint the bathroom, landscape our front yard, campaign for my presidential candidate of choice, solve world peace…all before lunch.

It didn’t happen.

Woke up groggily from my NyQuil-induced sleep to find my bed invaded by rugrats. Staggered to the bathroom and back, where I flopped back into bed for another half an hour, dozing, snuggling & tickling. Kids disappeared to watch TV, and I showered, all the while peppering my husband with questions.

“Have we thought about this? I’ve been meaning to ask you about that. Oh, and what about this other thing? Did you ask the guy about the thing? Should I call the place about that? Oh, I forgot to tell you that what’s-his-name called….”

It’s so unusual to get three minutes of uninterrupted time with him, let along 20 minutes.

I think I made his brain explode.

It’s 2:30 pm and we still don’t have anything accomplished.

Happy Saturday….

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

