Quiet day

Today was really pretty quiet and peaceful. Baby slept through the night. All night. Didn’t hear a peep until 6:30 am. Whoo hoo! Usually she’s up between 2 and 4 times each night, but last night we bunked her in with Firstborn. Her daddy moved her mattress into her big sister’s room. They have the same sleeping arrangement tonight. I hope this works!

After that, it was a day of catching up. I stayed in my pajamas until 2 pm because I didn’t have any clean clothes to wear until I folded the ones in the dryer from 2 days ago. The girls joined me in solidarity and didn’t get dressed until late either. The plan had been to get up early (ha!), take the dog to the dog park (double ha!), and take the kids out for the day so their dad could catch up on the bills and pay the taxes (ho ho). Instead, everyone stayed inside all day (laundry, dishes, cooking, etc) until I floated the idea of taking the kids out to see a movie.

So around 4:15 pm, we left the house to have a quick dinner at the local Mexican place and caught the 5:15 showing of Horton Hears a Who (very cute movie…a few belly laughs). Afterwards we ended up at our local dairy for ice cream cones. We ordered “baby” size cones for all 4 of us, which got the kids a healthy-sized scoop, and us double scoops. Sheesh! So much for trying to be good….

Only heard from Mom once today, which is pretty unusual. She usually calls 3-5 times a day. When we got home tonight, there was a message from her, but I never had a chance to return it. We put the girls to bed and then I sat down to sort through my mail and bills, which I’d been promising my husband I’d do all week. By the time I thought to call her back, it was 10:30 pm…too late, IMO (though probably not in hers). Oh well…I’ll catch her tomorrow.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

