WFMW: Twitter

wfmw

tilt

I am a hardcore Twitterer. I love tweeting with my tweeps. It’s a real community. As a matter of fact, my post on Sunday was a YouTube video about Twitter. If you want a typical user’s view of the appeal of Twitter, it’s perfect.

I use Twitter to promote my latest blog posts (I get a respectable amount of traffic from Twitter), share interesting links, and tweet observations and reactions. If you want to check out the kind of things I tweet, you can find me at http://twitter.com/sandwiched.

I’ve tweeted from every room in my house, my car (though not while driving, or course!), the mall, the movies, and even (and especially) from the emergency room!

It’s also utterly fascinating to read tweets in real time as newsworthy events happen. When the plane went down in the Hudson River, I first learned about it from someone I follow who said they could see the plane in the river from their living room window! The first photo I saw of the plane in the water was posted on TwitPic by a Twitterer with an iPhone.

As one who tweets, I have a huge resource available to me. Once I was stuck with two half-eaten apples (blame Little Sis). So I asked the twitterverse what I should do with them. Within minutes, I had eight or ten suggestions, and my kids had a great after-school snack that day.

I spent election night and inauguration day on Twitter. For a girl in a very politically conservative area of western Pennsylvania, it gave me a chance to connect in real time with other Barack Obama supporters.

This post is hardly the 140-character limit to which I am accustomed!

Thanks to Jen, who got me hooked on Twitter with her Works For Me Wednesday post on Twitter. Here’s to spreading the Twitter love!

For more great ideas, check out Works For Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family and Things I Love Thursday at The Diaper Diaries. For more of my Works For Me Wednesday posts, click here.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Things I Love Thursday, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WFMW: Twitter

  1. Thanks for the link to my post. Twitter really is addictive, isn’t it?

  2. Holly says:

    I know Twitter’s “the thing”, but I just haven’t gotten into it. I already spend a lot of time online blogging, I just feel like I don’t need anymore virtual life. But everybody thinks it’s so great…maybe I should check it out!

  3. Sandwiched says:

    It’s a nice compliment to blogging. When I don’t have time for a full post, I know that when people stop by my page, they’ll see my latest tweets.

  4. I’m new to the scene but loving it! Yah for tweeting!

    There’s a really great article on tweeting. I just wrote about it yesterday.

    http://weirdandsurprisinglygood.blogspot.com/2009/03/y-twitter-is-important-for-artists.html

    I’ll be back to read more of your twitter posts. I need help figuring out how to bring in traffic and what all I can do with twitter.

    Thanks for posting!!

    Happy tweeting.

  5. cookingupafamily says:

    I am a facebook girl, but decided for my blog to setup a twitter account yesterday! so i am behind the curb on this but hopefully i will like it.

  6. Twitter rocks. And I love reading your tweets!

  7. Sherry says:

    I just recently started tweeting. It is fun! :D

  8. wanda says:

    I am new to twitter….and not too savvy yet.
    I am honestly behind on the whole scene.
    I would love to be rockin it like you are.
    I have a lot to learn still.

  9. Kristin says:

    I’m new to Twitter, as well as some of the previous posters, so I haven’t figured out all there is to it. Yet!

  10. Jen says:

    I absolutely love twitter. I have my phone linked up and get real life friends’ twitters texted to me. People having a conversation all over the country.
    So much fun!

  11. Jen says:

    I am
    jennybekrocks
    on twitter

  12. Nanon says:

    Nice post, thanks!

  13. jubilee says:

    I am a Twitter addict too! Though, I must confess, I read more tweets than I post myself!

Leave a Reply

