WFMW: Flylady

Works for Me Wednesday

Works for Me Wednesday

I’m sure a lot of people already know about Flylady. I first heard about her from my in-laws. My father-in-law was “encouraging” my mother-in-law to adopt some of her habits. (Which is ironic, because she does ALL the housework singlehandedly just fine, while her husband critiques her.)

Anyway, when I got home, I checked out the website and signed on. I’ve been “fluttering” along, off and on, ever since. I started fluttering a bit harder after hearing that one of my neighbors was a Flybaby too.

The great part is that you’re only asked to do what you can, when you can. Very slowly, I’ve learned to build habits. I “swish and swipe” my bathrooms, not everyday yet, but maybe three days a week, which still makes a big difference! I now do a load of laundry (almost) everyday. (Of course, that was partially instilled by the fact that our dryer died and we had to use the clothesline for about 2 weeks.)

Basically, housework feels like a lot less of an emergency. Which is a HUGE relief. I can see the tops of my kitchen table and counters a lot more often.

With each habit I acquire, I acquire that much more PEACE.

Peace TOTALLY works for me.

For more ideas that work, check out Works for me Wednesday at Rocks in My Dryer.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Uncategorized, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WFMW: Flylady

  1. Katie Lloyd says:

    I just found FlyLady earlier this week and you put it so well: “housework feels like a lot less of an emergency” with her missions and tips! As weird as it sounds….knowing the ceiling corners in my kitchen are cobweb free makes happy! :)

  2. susan says:

    Oh. I think I should maybe send you flowers for this.

  3. suziqzer says:

    She’s great! I signed up for her emails & find that I get a few too many, but just delete the ones I don’t have time for.

    I have learned to adapt her program to fit my needs and do things a little differently now myself, but I sure needed a starting point when I first became a SAHM and she gave me that inspiration!

  4. Sherry says:

    Funny you should write this today. I had a small moment of CHAOS today when dh announced he was bringing over a guest for lunch. I could have been a little more prepared, but it went over well. :D I need to stay on track with it more though.

  5. mzzterry says:

    thanks for visiting my blog for wfmw & giving me ideas for kids books!
    blessings to you.

  6. Nessie says:

    I went to read some of the Fly Lady’s site. How has this worked for you since you made this post? I recognize some of these habits as my own, but I’m pokey and don’t “fly”.

  7. Sandwiched says:

    Pretty well. I’ve signed up for the daily emails, and basically, I just “jump in where I am.” If I remember and have time for a swish & swipe, I will. If I have 15 minutes to declutter a drawer, great. Cumulatively, it really adds up, even if I don’t get to everything every day.

    We spent all weekend decluttering. Mr. Hoagie took the garage and I took the master bedroom. Much better! Off to Goodwill in the morning.

    Basically, I’d start with doing what interests you…scan the emails and start with something quick and fun. It’ll snowball!

  8. Pingback: Summer’s catching up to me « Sandwiched

Leave a Reply

